During the Navratri fest, people from major parts of North, south and central India observe fast of all nine days. A number of people choose to fast only first and ninth day of the Navratri. Ritual fast is a way of devotion and to pay gratitude to Goddess Durga. As per Hindu tradition, consuming alcohol and non-vegetarian food is highly restricted and considered inauspicious and gloomy. There are certain scientific reasons behind this restriction. During the days of Navratri or any other auspicious or holy occasion, people are supposed to avoid consuming alcohol, meat, grains, salt, onion, garlic etc. As per Ayurvedic perception, these foods are ‘Tamsik’ and they attract as well as absorb negative vibes. Therefore, such foods need to be avoided during such auspicious occasion.