Durga Puja » Nine Days of Navratri

Nine Days of Navratri

Navratri festival is a nine days celebration, and these nine days are separated into three set of three days. As, each day of these nine days is devoted to nine form of supreme Goddess, three set of three days adore different facet of mother power. First three days are devoted to Supreme source of power, Goddess Durga. The Goddess is destined to all ours ills, evils and defects. Another segment of three days is devoted to Goddess of spiritual wealth, Laxmi. Goddess Laxmi is considered to have power to bless her devotees with never-ending wealth. In final segment of three days, Goddess of wisdom, Saraswati is worshipped. Goddess Saraswati brings overall success in life and a medium for spiritual enlightenment.

Mother Durga is adored under nine different names on each day of Navratri. Every day she gets a new personality, nature, appearance, and obligation. These nine forms of Mother Durga are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Maha Gauri and Siddhidatri. On Initial six days, festival and devotion is restricted to home. The Navratri celebration gets its festive form since seventh day when the festivity of Navratri spread around.

First Day Pooja

The first day of Navratri Pooja is devoted to Shailputri. Goddess Shailputri is daughter of Himalayas. She is a form of Mata Shakti (Goddess of Power) and spouse of Lord Shiva.

Second Day Pooja

On the second day of Navratri Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped in homes and temples. The word 'Brahmcharini' is derivative of the word Brahma, which stands for Tapa (Penance). This form of mata Shakti is close to Uma or Parvati.

Third Day Pooja

Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri. She is considered to be Goddess of beauty and bravery.

Fourth Day Pooja

The form of Mata Shakti which is worshipped fourth day of Navratri is Kushmanda. As per Hindu mythology, it is considered that the Goddess Kushmanda has originated this entire Universe by her laugh.

Fifth Day Pooja

Devotees worship Skand Mata on the fifth day of Navratri. Skanda is chief warrior of God's army and Goddess is mother of Skanda that is why the Goddess is called Skand Mata.

Sixth Day Pooja

Sixth day of Navratri is intended for Devi Katyayani. In her typical image, the goddess Katyayani seated on lion and has tree eyes and four legs.

Seventh Day Pooja

On the seventh day of Navratri festival, devotees worship and adore the Goddess Kalratri. As name indicates Devi Kalratri is as black as a dark night and she is notorious to eliminate fear from her devotee's heart.

Eighth Day Pooja

Maha Gauri is the form of Mother Durga which is worshipped on eighth day of Navratri. The Goddess Maha Gauri signifies calmness and endorses wisdom. As name suggest, she is considered enormously beautiful. Her color is like snow and adorned with white colored jewelries.

Ninth Day Pooja

Ninth form of the Goddess Durga, Siddhidatri is worshiped on the ninth day of Navratri. She is Goddess of all eight siddhis and is worshipped by all Yogis, Sadhakas, Siddhas and RIshis-Munis.

Copyright © Society for the Confluence of Festivals in India (SCFI). All Rights Reserved